Confessions of a Human Girl, or My Own Brand of Warrior

Posted: January 11, 2011 in crossfit, paleo, recipes, self-image, struggles, Uncategorized

I have been assessing, reflecting, soul searching, and generally dragging my feet about writing this post. Well, here it is, people………. I ate ice cream!  That’s right!  Fell off the old strict-paleo-for-30-days wagon. Truth is, this human doesn’t respond well to strict.  The rebellious teen inside me says, “Oh yeah?!  Well, f*** you!  If you won’t allow me a little, I will just eat the whole pint, box, cake (insert drug of choice)!”  Doing something for 30 days feels too much like a diet.  Then, the critical parent inside me says, “Wow, you really can’t do this for 30 days?”  No.  And, as of right now, I would rather try and get back to a way of eating clean that I can sustain for more than 30 days.

Frankly, I was doing great before when I was doing about 90% Paleo.  I was leaning out, I had good and even energy all day, my performance was improving, my skin cleared up.  Most of all, it felt like a lifestyle instead of a diet, because I still allowed myself those non-paleo foods that I love in moderation. And, as human as that was, it worked for me.Then a really sad incident in my life (coupled with the holidays) threw me off track a bit.  But, now I am ready to get back on… I just won’t be doing the drill sergeant brand of approach that I originally planned.  If the day comes that I can be all zen and let go of my attachments with certain foods- yippee.  If I plateau, I will reassess.  For now, I am done shaming myself!! Done!!

So, here it is, folks:  I eat clean 90% of the time, I am super active, I try to arrange my life so that I get plenty of sleep and little stress.  And I will continue (for life maybe) on my quest for a realistic self-image and a shameless love for me- exactly how I am! Human and all!  I will also keep writing honestly and telling you guys of my victories, my blunders, and my struggles getting there.  And that, my friends, is “my own brand of warrior!!”

This post is dedicated to my dear friend Ann W.


Leave a Reply

